The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) has joined forces with the US Department of Labor and the New York State Department of Labor to support the Unemployment Insurance Integrity Center of Excellence.

The Center is a laboratory of innovation for integrity strategies in unemployment insurance, established to assist in preventing, detecting and recovering improper payments.

NASWA's Key Tasks

  1. Engage the states in a national effort to improve UI integrity
  2. Develop a national UI Integrity Training Academy
  3. Establish a funding process for UI integrity initiatives
  4. Create a data hub to expand cross match efforts
  5. Conduct a UI Integrity Technology Symposium
Current Efforts
The Center is working to provide a single place for states to access information, resources and promising practices related to UI program integrity. Here are the current efforts underway:
  • A UI integrity database of strategies and best practices is being built through outreach to UI Directors.
  • Training curricula is being designed and developed.
  • An integrity improvement funding process is being developed to support state initiatives.
  • A pilot program is being established to validate the integrity data hub concept.
  • The agenda is being finalized and presenters are being determined for the 2015 UI Integrity Technology Symposium.

Project Partners

UI Integrity Center of Excellence Project Partners

Upcoming Events

2015 UI Integrity Technology Symposium
This event on September 1-2, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, Washington, D.C. is designed to provide you with the latest information on technologies and tools being used in government and the private sector to combat improper payments and fraud. Visit the conference website for registration and information travel assistance funding for states and other exciting agenda items. For additional information, contact Randy Gillespie at rgillespie@naswa.org or Jim Van Erden at jvanerden@naswa.org.

2015 NASWA UI Directors' Conference and IT/Legal Issues Forum
The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions invites you to join us in Albuquerque, New Mexico from October 19-22, 2015. The 2015 conference will celebrate UI's 80th anniversary and will provide an opportunity to share innovative ideas and policies for the federal-state UI system. In addition to focusing on UI programs, specialty conference workshops will be available for UI attorneys and UI IT professionals.

Online registration is now available. Early bird registration ends on August 28. Click here for conference hotel information at the Albuquerque Marriott. Reservations must be made by September 21 for the block rate.

Center Reports

Membership and Staff Directory

  • Center Staff Directory

  Role Phone Email
State Liaisons (NASWA)
Maria Noble NASWA BPC SME, Integrity Technology Symposium, Liaison for USDOL Regions 2 & 5 443-803-7064 mnoble@naswa.org
Chris Paquette NASWA UI SME, Liaison for USDOL Regions 1 & 3 (PT) 860-933-5488 cpaquette@naswa.org
Bill Starks NASWA UI SME (PT) 801-556-2942 wstarks@naswa.org
NY Center Staff
General Information   518-485-6316 coe@labor.ny.gov
Esterina Adams Training Program Coordinator, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-485-6314 esterina.adams@labor.ny.gov
Frank Bezak Business Analyst, Pilot Projects Lead, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-457-1359 frank.bezak@labor.ny.gov
James Konicki Director of UI Integrity & Quality Control, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-457-5713 james.konicki@labor.ny.gov
Princella Learry Center Project Director, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-485-6316 princella.learry@labor.ny.gov
Marian Light DAPM Project Coordinator, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-485-6323 marian.light@labor.ny.gov
Jon Rickert Portal Project Coordinator, NY State Dept. of Labor 518-485-6321 Jon.Rickert@labor.ny.gov
NASWA Center Staff
James Cotter NASWA Project Manager, Integrity Data Hub 703-587-8353 jcotter@naswa.org
Sara Hall Phillips UI SME; Project Manager, Digital Library 202-774-0030 shallphillips@naswa.org
Randy Gillespie NASWA Integrity Project Director 317-748-8779 rgillespie@naswa.org
Shirley Gresham Lead Instructional Designer 858-245-7073 sgresham@naswa.org
Brian Langley NASWA UI SME (PT) 208-258-0714 blangley@naswa.org
Michelle Marshel NASWA Project Manager, State Engagement 317-431-6694 mmarshel@naswa.org
Maria Noble NASWA BPC SME, Integrity Technology Symposium, Liaison for USDOL Regions 2 & 5 443-803-7064 mnoble@naswa.org
Chris Paquette NASWA UI SME, Liaison for USDOL Regions 1 & 3 (PT) 860-933-5488 cpaquette@naswa.org
Amy Smith NASWA Project Manager, Integrity Training Academy & Integrity Improvement Investment Process 360-701-2029 amy.smith@naswa.org
Bill Starks NASWA UI SME, Liaison for USDOL Regions 4 & 6 (PT) 801-556-2942 wstarks@naswa.org
Jim Van Erden NASWA Sr. Policy Advisor 202-434-8027 jvanerden@naswa.org

UI Resources




Affiliates

  • America's Job Exchange
  • On Point Technology, Inc.
  • CSG
  • Sivic Solutions Group, LLC (SSG)
  • Equifax Workforce Solutions