

Images of 2020 policy committee chairs Submitted by Michelle Marshel on October 09, 2019

NASWA Names Leadership of 2020 Policy Committees

October 11, 2019

For Immediate Release

WASHINGTON - The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced the appointment of Chairpersons of the Policy Committees of the Membership. These individuals, selected from across the U.S. to serve as NASWA Policy Committee Chairpersons, are as follows:

- **Bryan Hicks**, Assistant Director, Financial Management & Administrative Services, Arkansas Division of Workforce Services, will serve as the Administration & Finance Chair
- **Jackie Turner**, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Employment Security, will serve as the Audit and Finance Committee Chair
- **Dawn Dovre**, Deputy Secretary and Director of Policy & Public Affairs, South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, will serve as the Communications Committee Chair
- Tamika Ledbetter, Commissioner, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, will serve as the Employment and Training Committee Chair
- Matt Weldon, Assistant Director, Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, will serve as the Equal Opportunity Committee Chair
- Laura Boyett, Director, Bureau of Unemployment Compensation, Maine Department of Labor, will serve as the Technology Committee Chair
- Ron Marino, Assistant Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development, will serve as the Unemployment Insurance Committee Chair
- Katie Houghlin, Executive Director of the Kentucky Office of Unemployment Insurance, will serve as the Unemployment Insurance Interstate Benefits Subcommittee Chair
- Sam Mitchell, WorkSource Administrator, Washington State Employment Security Department, will serve as the Veterans Affairs Committee Chair
- **Joe Barela**, Executive Director, Colorado Department of Labor & Employment, will serve as the Workforce & Labor Market Information Committee Chair

"All of these highly talented individuals were selected based on their unique subject matter expertise," said Scott B. Sanders, NASWA Executive Director. "NASWA is fortunate to have this group of highly capable and innovative leaders serving our policy committees. We are eager to tap the experience and expertise each of them brings to the table while representing their respective states."

NASWA Policy Committee Chairpersons assume their corresponding positions upon their acceptance of appointment following the 83rd Annual Meeting - Workforce Summit & UI Directors' Conference held in Boston, Massachusetts last month. Their terms will run for one year.