NASWA Announces 2020-2021 Executive Committee and Board of Directors

September 30, 2020

For Immediate Release

WASHINGTON – The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced the election of the 2020-2021 association year executive committee and board of directors last week at the annual <u>Workforce</u> <u>Summit & UI Directors' Conference</u>, which was held virtually this year. NASWA membership, which represents all 50 state, U.S. territory, and D.C. workforce agencies nationwide, selected 20 new board members to represent its regions and a five-member executive committee. The Board's duties are to direct the business of the association.

"We are looking forward to this upcoming association year and are very fortunate to have this group of experienced, committed individuals providing guidance during this time of reemployment and recovery building," said Scott B. Sanders, NASWA President & CEO. "These members represent the energy, expertise, and talent of those spearheading workforce development efforts across the country, which is so vital right now."

The makeup of the new Executive Committee of the Board consists of:

- Fitzgerald Washington: Chair Secretary, Alabama Department of Labor
- Suzi LeVine: Chair-Elect Commissioner, Washington State Employment Security Department
- Anna Hui: Past Chair Director, Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
- Robin Cooley: Secretary Director, Wyoming Department of Workforce Services
- Jackie Turner: Treasurer Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Employment Security

NASWA Board of Directors members:

- Jennifer James-Price: Region I Director Undersecretary for Workforce Development, Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development
 - Laura Fortman: Region I Alternate Director Commissioner, Maine Department of Labor
- Daryle Dudzinski: Region II Director Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Labor
 Nesha Christian-Hendrickson: Region II Alternate Director Assistant Commissioner/Legal Counsel, U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Labor
- Unique Morris-Hughes: Region III Director Director, D.C. Department of Employment Services
 - Ellen Marie Hess: Region III Alternate Director Commissioner, Virginia Employment Commissioner
- Kevin Carlson: Region IV Director Chief Financial Officer, Division of Employment Security, North Carolina Department of Commerce

- Jeff McCord: Region IV Alternate Director Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
- Steve Gray: Region V Director Director, Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
 - Josh Richardson: Region V Alternate Director Chief of Staff, Indiana Department of Workforce Development
- Bill McCamley: Region VI Director Secretary, New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
 Ed Serna: Region VI Alternate Director Executive Director, Texas Workforce Commission
- John Albin: Region VII Director Commissioner, Nebraska Department of Labor
 - Ryan Wright: Region VI Alternate Director Acting Secretary of Labor, Kansas Department of Labor
- Joe Barela: Region VIII Director Executive Director, Colorado Department of Labor and Employment

 Marcia Hultman: Region VIII Alternate Director Secretary, South Dakota Department of Labor
 and Regulation
- Dennis Petrie: Region IX Director Workforce Services Branch Deputy Director, California Employment Development Department
 - Allicyn Tasaka: Region IX Alternate Director Executive Director, Hawaii Workforce Development Council
- Dr. Tamika Ledbetter: Region X Director Commissioner, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
 - David Gerstenfeld: Region X Alternate Director Interim Executive Director, Oregon Employment Department

Incoming Board members assumed their respective posts upon election and appointment at the NASWA Annual Workforce Summit. All Board of Directors positions serve a one-year term, except treasurer, which serves two.