

Association Year 2021 Board of Directors Submitted by Michelle Marshel on September 28, 2021

NASWA Announces 2021-2022 Board of Directors

September 29, 2021

For Immediate Release

WASHINGTON – The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced the election of its 2021-2022 association year board of directors. NASWA membership, which represents state and U.S. territory workforce agencies nationwide, selected 15 new board members and 10 alternate members to represent its regions, including a five-member executive committee. The board's duties are to direct the business of the association.

"We are very fortunate to have this group of experienced, committed individuals providing guidance for NASWA," said Scott B. Sanders, NASWA President and CEO. "NASWA Board members represent the energy, expertise, innovation and talent of those spearheading workforce development efforts across the country, who have been on the front lines helping America's workers over the past year-and-a-half."

Executive Committee Members of the Board:

- Chair Robert Asaro-Angelo, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
- Chair-Elect Dr. Tamika Ledbetter, Commissioner, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
- Past Chair **Fitzgerald Washington**, Secretary, Alabama Department of Labor
- Secretary Michael Harrington, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Labor
- Treasurer **John Albin**, Commissioner, Nebraska Department of Labor

Board of Directors, listed by NASWA region:

- Region 1: Director **Jennifer James-Price**, Undersecretary for Workforce Development, Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development; Alternate **Laura Fortman**, Commissioner, Maine Department of Labor
- Region 2: Director Nesha Christian-Hendrickson, Assistant Commissioner/Legal Counsel, U.S. Virgin Islands Department of Labor; Alternate Daryle Dudzinski, Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Labor
- Region 3: Director Dr. Unique Morris-Hughes, Director, Washington D.C. Department of Employment Services; Alternate - Sheila Ireland, Deputy Secretary for Workforce Development, Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry
- Region 4: Director Jamie Suber, Chief of Staff, South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce; Alternate - Buddy Hoskinson, Executive Director, Office of Unemployment Insurance,

- Kentucky Labor Cabinet
- Region 5: Director **Josh Richardson**, Chief of Staff, Indiana Department of Workforce Development; Alternate **Stephanie Beckhorn**, Director, Employment & Training, Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
- Region 6: Director **Ava Cates**, Secretary, Louisiana Workforce Commission; Alternate **Ed Serna**, Executive Director, Texas Workforce Commission
- Region 7: Director **Dr. Mardy Leathers**, *Director*, *Missouri Department of Higher Education & Workforce Development*; Alternate **Amber Shultz**, *Secretary, Kansas Department of Labor*
- Region 8: Director **Joe Barela**, Executive Director, Colorado Department of Labor & Employment; Alternate **Laurie Esau**, Commissioner, Montana Department of Labor and Industry
- Region 9: Director **Lynda Parven**, Administrator, Employment Security Division, Nevada Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation; Alternate **Anna Hunter**, Assistant Director, Arizona Department of Economic Security
- Region 10: Director **David Gerstenfeld**, Acting Executive Director, Oregon Employment Department; Alternate **Cami Feek**, Commissioner, Washington State Employment Security Department

Incoming executive committee and board members assumed their respective posts upon election at the NASWA Annual Membership Meeting September 22, 2021. All positions serve a one-year term, except the treasurer, which serves two years.

For a listing of NASWA's regions, visit naswa.org/about/regional-map.