

Vermont's Harrington Named NASWA Board of Directors Chair

February 13, 2023

WASHINGTON – The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced that Michael Harrington, Commissioner of the Vermont Department of Labor, has been named Chair of the association's board of directors.

Harrington, who previously served as Chair-Elect, assumed the role following the departure of Dr. Tamika Ledbetter, former Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development. He will serve for the remainder of the 2022-23 association year and, per NASWA bylaws, also serve as Chair during the 2023-24 association year.

"I'd like to thank Michael for taking on this new role after serving as the board's Chair-Elect for the past four months," NASWA President & CEO Scott B. Sanders said. "I'm very excited to continue working with him and the rest of the executive committee as we actively pursue our strategic goal of driving the national workforce agenda."

A new Chair-Elect will be selected following a special member election later this month.

The NASWA board of directors include:

- Chair Michael Harrington, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Labor
- Chair-Elect Vacant
- Past Chair Robert Asaro-Angelo, Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
- Secretary Lynda Parven, Administrator, Employment Security Division, Nevada Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation
- Treasurer **John Albin**, Commissioner, Nebraska Department of Labor

The NASWA board of directors is selected by the membership and their duties are to direct the business of the association. Board members serve a one-year term, except the treasurer, who serves two years.