NASWA Presents the Missouri Division of Workforce Development's Equal Opportunity Unit Department with National Award

October 13, 2016

NASWA Presents the Missouri Division of Workforce Development's Equal Opportunity Unit Department with National Award (Washington, DC) - Recently the National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) presented the Missouri Division of Workforce Development's Equal Opportunity Unit Department with the prestigious William J. Harris award at their 80th Annual National Conference in Oklahoma City. The William J. Harris award was established to recognize excellence in equal opportunity workforce development activities. The William J. Harris award was given to the Missouri Division of Workforce Development's Equal Opportunity Unit based on several factors, including innovation in equal opportunity grant creation, and the development of an interagency team focused on improving employment, postsecondary education, and independent living opportunities for students with disabilities. Additionally, the Unit was integral in creating "Show-Me Careers," a consortium of state agencies focused on transitioning youth and young adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities into sustainable employment or postsecondary education programs, as well as multiple other ground-breaking and innovative workforce development initiatives. "The National Association of State Workforce Agencies is delighted to present the Equal Opportunity Unit of Missouri's Division of Workforce Development with this year's William J. Harris award," said Scott Sanders, Executive Director of NASWA. "The proactive, innovative, cutting-edge approach these dedicated individuals have taken to improve employment and education opportunities for individuals with significant barriers to success is more than commendable and definitely deserves to be acknowledged on a national level." Members of the Equal Opportunity Unit of Missouri's Division of Workforce Development include State Equal Opportunity Office Danielle Smith, Disability Coordinator Kristen Funk, Research Analyst Isaac Hagan, Legal Specialist Angela Burke, and Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist Y'vonne Wright. NASWA also recognized several other individuals and entities who have provided vital community workforce and economic development opportunities as a part of their Salute to Leadership awardsceremony at their 80th Annual National Conference. More information about award recipients and categories can be found at Salute to Leadership Awards.