

Virtual Committee Meeting

March 15, 2022 1:30 PM to 4:30 PM (ET)

AGENDA

1:30 pm – 1:45 pm Welcome, Roll Call, Approval of Minutes, Ice Breaker

1:45 pm – 2:00 pm Committee Business and Updates

Michelle Marshel, NASWA

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Promising Practices in Labor Market Information (LMI) Outreach

Four states will showcase their LMI communications & tools suite during this session. This will provide a fresh perspective on innovative approaches to storytelling with data.

- Chris Cannon (Moderator), Committee Chair and Assistant Administrator of Communications, Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development
- Angela Berland, LMIS Director & Becky Shaffer, Communications Director, Kansas Department of Labor
- Jessica Cunningham, Ph.D., Executive Director, Kentucky Center for Statistics & Holly Neal, Chief Information Officer, Kentucky Labor Department
- Hailey Barrus, Communications Representative, Michigan Department of Technology, Management and Budget & Sara Elmesiri, Communications Representative, Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity

3:00 pm - 3:10 pm **Break**

3:10 pm – 3:40 pm Guest Speakers from the U.S. Department of Labor

We will hear about initiatives from ETA this coming year and how state workforce agencies can increase collaboration in communications with the department followed by Q&A.

- Lenita Jacobs-Simmons, Deputy Assistant Secretary for ETA, U.S. Department of Labor
- Richard Cesar, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, U.S. Department of Labor

3:40 pm – 4:00 pm **Committee Workgroup Updates**

The committee will hear updates on workgroups from each lead and provide opportunity for other members to express interest in joining a workgroup.

OUTREACH WORKGROUP:

LEAD: Angie Deli Santi, Communications Director, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

 Members: Greg Mette-NASWA, Michele Campbell-MA, Jessica Duren-MO, Heidi Saucedo-NV, Sara Elmesiri-MI

• ONBOARDING WORKGROUP:

LEAD: Larry Parker, Committee Vice Chair and Government and Public Relations Manager, North Carolina Department of Commerce

 Members: Brooke Higdon-NASWA, Chris Cannon-TN, Chris Fiore-LA, Tara Hutchison-AL, Holly Neal-KY

COMMITTEE RESOURCES WORKGROUP:

LEAD: Dawn Dovre, Committee Vice Chair Nominee and Director of Policy & Public Affairs, South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

 Members: Michelle Marshel-NASWA, Mackenzie Decker-SD, Kerry McComber-NC, Ellie Banks-MS

4:00 pm – 4:30 pm **Peer-to-Peer Discussion**

Committee members will be given time to discuss any hot topic issues facing their communications unit and/or agency with the group.