

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Senate Committee on Finance 221 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington DC 20510

The Honorable Jason Smith Chairman House Committee on Ways and Means 1011 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mike Crapo Ranking Member Senate Committee on Finance 239 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard Neal Ranking Member House Committee on Ways and Means 372 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

## September 19, 2023

As representatives of the nation's public agencies responsible for state and local workforce and health and human services systems, we are writing to express our urgent request to Congress to provide a oneyear extension to the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, effective through September 2024.

TANF is a critical program providing funding to state and local governments to support the economic mobility of families experiencing poverty with benefits and services. Through TANF funding, families receive economic supports to meet their basic needs, employment and training skills that provide families with sustaining wages, child care and other vital services.

Congress last reauthorized TANF in 2005 and has renewed the program through a series of short-term extensions, creating significant uncertainty about the availability of funds for state and local governments tasked with administering the program. A full-year extension of TANF is necessary to ensure agencies on the ground have the capacity to continue to serve families and children.

The need for a full-year extension is especially pronounced due to recent passage of the Fiscal Responsibility Act (FRA; PL 118-5) in June 2023, which authorized changes to TANF's employment and

education outcome-based measures. State and local agencies are working hard to faithfully implement these new program requirements while providing essential services to program participants. As we continue to navigate these changes, we urge Congress to pass a one-year extension to support implementation of the FRA while minimizing disruptions in TANF service delivery for families and children.

Please contact Christine Johnson at cjohnson@aphsa.org for further information or with any questions.

Jrang Waiz Evan

Tracy Wareing Evans President and CEO American Public Human Services Association

ANC

Marc Ott CEO/Executive Director ICMA

Whit Makely

Dan Makelky President Na⊡onal Associa⊡on of County Human Services Administrators

Brad Turner-Little CEO National Association of Workforce Boards

Bil McBal

Bill McBride Executive Director National Governors Association

Cc:

Rep. Vern Buchanan Rep. Adrian Smith Rep. Mike Kelly

DavidAdkins

David Adkins Executive Director/CEO The Council of State Governments

Matthew D. Chase CEO/Executive Director National Association of Counties

Scott Sanders President and CEO National Association of State Workforce Agencies

Jim Store.

Tim Storey Chief Executive Officer National Conference of State Legislatures

aco

Clarence E. Anthony CEO & Executive Director National League of Cities

Sen. Debbie Stabenow Sen. Maria Cantwell Sen. Robert Menendez Rep. David Schweikert Rep. Darin LaHood Rep. Brad Wenstrup Rep. Jodey Arrington Rep. Drew Ferguson Rep. Ron Estes Rep. Lloyd Smucker Rep. Kevin Hern Rep. Carol Miller Rep. Greg Murphy Rep. David Kustoff Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick Rep. Greg Steube Rep. Claudia Tenney Rep. Michelle Fischbach Rep. Blake Moore Rep. Michelle Steel Rep. Beth Van Duyne Rep. Randy Feenstra Rep. Nicole Malliotakis Rep. Mike Carey Rep. Lloyd Doggett Rep. Mike Thompson Rep. John Larson Rep. Earl Blumenauer Rep. Bill Pascrell Rep. Danny Davis Rep. Linda Sanchez Rep. Brian Higgins Rep. Terri Sewell Rep. Suzan DelBene Rep. Judy Chu Rep. Gwen Moore Rep. Dan Kildee Rep. Don Beyer Rep. Dwight Evans Rep. Brad Schneider Rep. Jimmy Panetta

Sen. Thomas R. Carper Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin Sen. Sherrod Brown Sen. Michael F. Bennet Sen. Robert P. Casey Sen. Mark R. Warner Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse Sen. Margaret Wood Hassan Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto Sen. Elizabeth Warren Sen. Chuck Grassley Sen. John Cornyn Sen. John Thune Sen. Tim Scott Sen. Bill Cassidy Sen. James Lankford Sen. Steve Daines Sen. Todd Young Sen. John Barrasso Sen. Ron Johnson Sen. Thom Tillis Sen. Marsha Blackburn