2023-2024 National Policy Committee Chairs

National Policy Committee Chairs Announced For 2024 Association Year

WASHINGTON - The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced the appointment of 10 national Policy Committee Chairpersons within the membership. These individuals, selected from across the United States, are as follows:

Administration & Finance Committee
Christopher LaVigne, Chief of Administrative and Fiscal Services, Connecticut Department of Labor

Communications Committee
Dawn Dovre, Deputy Secretary, South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

Employment & Training Committee
Stephanie Beckhorn, Director, Office of Employment & Training, Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Opportunity

Equal Opportunity Committee
Maurice Emsellem, Senior Advisor, California Labor & Workforce Development Agency

Technology Committee
Liz Carver, Workforce Development Division Director, Utah Department of Workforce Services

Unemployment Insurance Committee
Buddy Hoskinson, Executive Director, Office of Unemployment Insurance, Kentucky Education and Labor Cabinet

Unemployment Insurance Subcommittee on Interstate Benefits
Kris Funk, UI Administrator, Wyoming Department of Workforce Services

Veterans Affairs Committee
Sarah Morrissey, Employment Services Bureau Director, New Hampshire Employment Security

Wage & Hour Committee
Joe Barela, Executive Director, Colorado Department of Labor & Employment

Workforce & Labor Market Information Committee
Scott Powell, Director, Michigan Center for Data and Analytics

“All 10 of our policy committees have extremely knowledgeable and talented individuals to lead as Chairs,” NASWA President & CEO, Scott B. Sanders said. “I’m excited for the year ahead, and we are fortunate to have them all in leadership roles.”

NASWA Policy Committee Chairpersons assumed their corresponding positions upon acceptance of appointment following the September 14, 2023, NASWA Membership Meeting in Los Angeles, CA. All Chairperson positions have a one-year term.


About the National Association of State Workforce Agencies (www.naswa.org): NASWA is the national organization representing all 50 state workforce agencies, District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. These agencies deliver training, employment, career, business, and wage and hour services, in addition to administering unemployment insurance, veteran reemployment, and labor market information programs. NASWA provides policy expertise, shares promising state practices, and promotes state innovation and leadership in workforce development.