NASWA Announces 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Media Contact

Michelle Marshel, Director, Meetings & Communications
Phone: (202) 999-0168 | Email:


Pictured left to right: Ava Dejoie (LA), Galen Hollenbaugh (MT), Ed Serna (TX), Delia Garcia (KS), John Albin (NE), Kay Erickson (OR), Jeff McCord (TN), Pamela Szacik (NH), Kevin Carlson (NC), Jackie Turner (MS), Fitzgerald Washington (AL), Bruce Madson (OH), Anna Hui (MO), Jon Pierpont (UT), Patrick Henning (CA), James Rzepkowski (MD) standing in for Tiffany Robinson, Jennifer James-Price (MA), Marla Lazere (AZ), Ron Marino (NJ), Josh Richardson (IN), Joe Barela (CO)

For Immediate Release

WASHINGTON – The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) announced the election of the 2019-2020 association year Board of Directors recently at the annual Workforce Summit & UI Directors’ Conference in Boston, Massachusetts. NASWA membership, which represents state and U.S. territory workforce agencies nationwide, selected 20 new board members to represent its regions and a five-member executive committee. The Board’s duties are to direct the business of the association.

“We are very fortunate to have this group of experienced, committed individuals providing guidance for NASWA and driving the national workforce agenda,” said Scott B. Sanders, NASWA Executive Director. “These Board members represent the energy, expertise, and talent of those spearheading workforce development efforts across the country.”

The makeup of the new Executive Committee of the Board consists of:

  • Anna Hui: Board President - Director, Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
  • Fitzgerald Washington: Board President-Elect - Secretary, Alabama Department of Labor
  • Jon Pierpont: Board Past-President - Executive Director, Utah Department of Workforce Services
  • Patrick Henning: Board Secretary - Director, California Employment Development Department
  • Jackie Turner: Board Treasurer - Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Employment Security

New NASWA Board of Directors members:

  • Jennifer James-Price: Region I Director - Undersecretary for Workforce Development, Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development
  • Pamela Szacik: Region I Alternate Director – Director, New Hampshire Employment Security Employment Service Bureau
  • Daryle Dudzinski: Region II Director – Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Labor
  • Ronald Marino: Region II Alternate Director – Assistant Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Labor
  • Tiffany Robinson: Region III Director – Secretary, Maryland Department of Labor 
  • Eileen Cipriani: Region III Alternate Director - Deputy Secretary for Workforce Development, Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry
  • Kevin Carlson: Region IV Director – Chief Financial Officer, Division of Employment Security, North Carolina Department of Commerce
  • Jeff McCord: Region IV Alternate Director – Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
  • Bruce Madson: Region V Director – Assistant Director, Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
  • Josh Richardson: Region V Alternate Director – Chief of Staff, Indiana Department of Workforce Development
  • Ava Dejoie: Region VI Director – Secretary, Louisiana Workforce Commission
  • Edward Serna: Region VI Alternate Director – Executive Director, Texas Workforce Commission
  • John Albin: Region VII Director – Commissioner, Nebraska Department of Labor
  • Delia Garcia: Region VII Alternate Director – Secretary, Kansas Department of Labor
  • Joe Barela: Region VIII Director – Executive Director, Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
  • Galen Hollenbaugh: Region VIII Alternate Director – Commissioner, Montana Department of Labor and Industry
  • Marla Lazere: Region IX Director – Administrator, Arizona Department of Economic Security
  • Allicyn Tasaka: Region IX Alternate Director – Executive Director, Hawaii Workforce Development Council
  • Suzi LeVine: Region X Director – Commissioner, Washington State Employment Security Department
  • Kay Erickson: Region X Alternate Director – Director, Oregon Employment Department

Incoming Board members assumed their respective posts upon election at the NASWA Annual Workforce Summit. All Board of Directors positions serve a one-year term.



About the National Association of State Workforce Agencies ( NASWA is the national organization representing all 50 state workforce agencies, District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. These agencies deliver training, employment, career, business, and wage and hour services, in addition to administering unemployment insurance, veteran reemployment, and labor market information programs. NASWA provides policy expertise, shares promising state practices, and promotes state innovation and leadership in workforce development.